Use Thinglink to Create a Media Rich Environment

ThingLink is an interesting website designed around the idea of sharing and tagging photos. Once you log in to Thinglink you can upload any photo or use a photo’s url to share the photos online. Users can tag photos with details, questions, and relevant links. The tags can be revealed every-time a user scrolls their mouse over the uploaded image. Users can also drive traffic to the site through the image tags as well as gather statistics related to the online traffic the image generates. The image truly becomes an interactive and media rich environment.

Application in the Classroom: As  a teacher, I foresee myself using this for cartoons or interesting photographs. I can pose questions or relevant details through image tagging and have my students respond electronically to their own interpretation of the image or cartoon. Check out my Thinglink of the Migrant Mother image.

print

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
One Comment
  1. Good Day,
    I am a teacher and a student. I have been studying the new 21st century technologies and ways to use them in my classroom. I came across your blog and have found some interesting things.

    I clicked on your Migrant Mother image in Thinglink. I think this is a wonderful site and has such potential in the classroom. Images are powerful for students so being able to tag images with relevant information and links to new information will really help students make connections with the curriculum and will appeal to students with compatible learning styles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *