Predict the Electoral College Assignment

This year I did a really interesting assignment but unfortunately I can only do it every four years. I figured I would share it with you. My senior government classes have been researching the election, the candidates, and the election process. I thought of an interesting assignment where they would have to predict what states would go Republican and which states would go Democratic (see map below). The day before the general election they predicted the exact vote count of the electoral college.  I had two students exactly predict the count (if Florida goes Democratic). Why is Florida always in question?

 

Two other teachers helped run a mock election at our school through the Youth Leadership Initiative. A little over half our student population at the high school voted on the ipads, which was actually a good turn out comparing we only had one day to vote because of Hurricane Sandy. Our students elected Barack Obama with a larger majority than the general election.

 

print

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *